Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

Potential Scam??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale
Author Message
bppjr



Joined: 05 Jun 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:57 pm    Post subject: Potential Scam?? Reply with quote

Hi all,

Wondering if anyone has any feedback on tickets for sale advertised by lewis@worldwideticketslive.com.

They claim to be an independent ticket company and have tickets advertised for:

£150 V Festival(London) 12/05
£75 Leed and Reading Festival(London) 14/05
£75 Leed Reading Festival(London) 17/05
£100 Madonna, Wembley Arena Block C(London) 10/04
£75 T in the Park(London) 10/04
£100 George Michael(London) 23/04

It is one of those cases where you pay the money and receive the tickets later. Anyone dealt with these guys then please let me know?

It sounds ok?
Back to top
mountainwiccan
 
 


Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 55
Location: not telling!!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To be honest I would steer clear of any ticket company that wants you to receive the tickets either a day or so before the event or on the same day as the event.

There was something on the tv about this sort of thing a few months ago with loads of buyers being scammed when they'd show up waiting for the tickets and the person who would be delivering them, only to be left standing!
Back to top
Hotelkills
 
 


Joined: 04 Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Location: London (soon)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you googled the company name/details?

I've found several scams out that way.
Back to top
lp



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:19 pm    Post subject: madonna tickets Reply with quote

This is definately too good to be true,I have tickets for madonna and they cost over £170 each!There is no way they would sell them for £100
Back to top
ljp



Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:50 pm    Post subject: Worldwideticketslive - are they a scam?? Reply with quote

I note that you enquired about the above company being a scam, I am looking to purchase some tickets from them and would appreciate any feed back from anyone who has used them. Their offers seem to good to be true at outset !!!!

I have had numerous exchange of emails, but there are too many grey areas for my liking

*Worldwidetisketslive website is underconstruction and has been for past 2 weeks, so can only get front page, which has no information. Not only that the page is adverting google, web pages at a cost of £3:95 or something, so anyone could have set it up.

*The address the guy (in my case Lewis) uses doesn't seem to exist, I have tried to search on the internet. When I put my home address in as example, plenty came up, very close.

* The Bank account provided is in the name of an individual, which isn't the person I have been corresponding with.

*Payment is to be made directly into the individuals account, over the counter - to speed things up and of course before tickets are even issued. Surely if this company was real they would have a bank account, or may use Pay Pal.

*All emails are out side normal office hours (9-12 2-5:30). Mobile number is never answered but, texts are sent. They have been chasing for funds as to take cash to bank.

*I've tried Google, Ask Geeve, Yahoo & Lycos to try and see if this company exists but there is nothing other than their web address

So make up your own minds but I have managed to talk myself out of handing over any cash, until I receive valid evidence confirming otherwise.

I hope I am wrong for all those people who have used this company.

I would appreciate any feed back but only relating to this company.

An Honest Person[/code]
Back to top
ljp



Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:09 pm    Post subject: Worldwideticketslive - Just ask more questions !!! Reply with quote

Well it is amazing how quick you find answers to questions, when you chase. I have since which recieved an email which has put my mind at rest.

So I will take the gamble and fingers crossed, and will up date this when I hear more.

X

Betsy
Back to top
ljp



Joined: 13 Jul 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Worldwideticketslive - Just ask more questions !!! Reply with quote

[quote=""]
Back to top
419



Joined: 20 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wouldnt touch them with a barge pole.
Not only are they offering expensive tickets for a lot less than they are worth(too good to be true????) but www.worldwideticketslive.com is a website that is only registered for a year
Quote:
Created 11-may-2006 Updated 11-may-2006 Expires 11-may-2007

The registration details are hidden behind domainsbyproxy.com



Begs the question...why would a company register a website for one year only and do what they can to not be traced???


forget all that! why would a "company"use a free add-ridden website??
Rolling Eyes
Back to top
jag
 
 


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NO POINT NO POINT NO POINT in warning people. The world is producing stupid fucks at a rate of 1000's a minute. Scammers never had it so good.
Back to top
Grim



Joined: 18 Sep 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Betsy,

How did your transaction go? Did it all do through fine or was it a scam?
Back to top
naureboy-william



Joined: 08 Nov 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone suggest who I contact to report scam?
Back to top
jsybean



Joined: 29 Aug 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:46 pm    Post subject: lewis@worldwideticketslive.com - is a scam Reply with quote

Evil or Very Mad

Unfortunately I found out the hard way and I was scammed by the above who's full name is Lewis McKenna. I have reported him to the Merseyside police and await to hear further.

I hope no-one took his word, and sent him money
Back to top
twiggy
Gumtree Admin


Joined: 04 Dec 2006
Posts: 468
Location: Richmond

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
naureboy-william Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:50 am Post subject:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can anyone suggest who I contact to report scam?


If you come across a fraudulent advertiser then report their ad to us using the 'report this ad for review by Gumtree admin' button that can be found in the bottom right-hand corner of the ad. This is the best way to bring it to our attention. We will then take a look and take appropriate action.
Please see here for more info: http://forums.gumtree.com/about37328.html

Jsybean sorry to hear that you were scammed - you did the right thing by reporting it to the Police. We will also take a look at this advertiser.
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group