Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

scammer??/

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale
Author Message
tussytat2



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Location: harpenden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:22 pm    Post subject: scammer??/ Reply with quote

i have recently listed a buggy and baby walker a guy said he would buy them and would pay me £50 to take my items off the listing page along with the £30 he was already gonna pay... fine by me your mad with money Smile then he emailed and said could he pay by cheque? yep fine by me sent him my address and he said he would send a cheque for £2500 ????? he wants the buggy and walker for his twin boys and he is in spain?
Im sure they have this sort of stuff in spain and it would be a better idea to by a twin buggy in spain instead of a second hand single buggy in harpenden????? WHAT DO YOU THINK??
Back to top
Bipolar Bear
 
 


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're kidding right?? you mean you've never heard of the age-old cheque bouncing scam? is this like your first time on the internet or something? basically it goes like this: scammer send you cheque for huge amount, asks you to cash cheque and take your amount plus a bit extra and send rest back to him. you bank cheque, cheque appears to have cleared, you send money to scammer, cheque then bounces as it is fake and your a/c balance takes a nosedive.

look, just email him back and say its off. if he sends you a cheque just tear it up.
Back to top
tussytat2



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Location: harpenden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for that. No I have been on the internet selling for a while but have never come accross this scam before i new it was a scam but was just woundering how the scam would work.
Back to top
tussytat2



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Location: harpenden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 7:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

does this email addy ring any bells my scammer gave it to me jobshippingltd@kinuxmail.org
Back to top
Bipolar Bear
 
 


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, not much. does that email address actually work? kinuxmail.org does not seem to exist so i would assume that address is bogus. if you have a name and/or address try plugging them into google as a first step and see what comes back.
Back to top
tussytat2



Joined: 14 Jun 2006
Posts: 9
Location: harpenden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:38 pm    Post subject: boared Reply with quote

i sent my scammer an email telling him he should phone his 'shipping company as i was now boared of this scam and baisically called the guy an idiot i mean who would fall for that £2500 pound to send a single buggy and walker to spain for twins do they think we are all stupid
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group