Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

*****BEWARE!!! GUMTREE PROPERTY SCAM*****

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Gumtree Feedback
Author Message
legs1987



Joined: 07 Mar 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: *****BEWARE!!! GUMTREE PROPERTY SCAM***** Reply with quote

BEWARE there are a number of people on gumtree advertising property for rent.
They will tell you they are working away or live in another country and need proof of finances before they come and show you the property, they will ask you to send a Money Gram to a relative or friend and get you to send them the reciept.
Even if you keep the reference number given to you by The Post Office when you transfer the money, the person who stole £800 from me still managed to get the money without ID or the reference number. This should NOT have been aloud by Money Gram or The Post Office but it was so BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!
Most of the postings are cheap flats in central london locations, too good to be true!!!!![/b]
Back to top
the_tidy_kiwi
Gumtree Moderator


Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please see the following thread in the Accommodation forum for more information about this scam: http://forums.gumtree.com/viewtopic.php?t=157751
Back to top
jojamesbrown



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 1:47 pm    Post subject: Property scam Reply with quote

This made me laugh out loud at the name he\she used
Email address to watch out for is bewarrenatty@aol.com

Hello,

The flat is still available for rent.The rent is £520 per month (for the whole flat) including all bills and the council tax. I've moved to Berlin, Germany because I'm working in petrol research industry. You can rent the flat as long as you need to stay, even for 2 or 3 years. The first payment will be ensured for 2 months (£1040). If you still want it, let me know so we can arrange the transaction.


Thank you
Warren Beatty
Back to top
penpact



Joined: 23 May 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Brighton, England

PostPosted: Sat May 23, 2009 9:08 am    Post subject: Identity Theft - Global Reply with quote

I am trying to find accommodation. They introduce themselves gently, and after a while the truth is revealed.. they are not in the country so cannot meet you. In order to draw up the tenancy agreement they need your name, address, date of birth etc... WHY??? Then they say they need proof you can pay so you have to buy a Western Union money order. They talk about doing it through their lawyer, but you have to email the info to the scammer. I said I would only deal with a registered lawyer. DO NOT send any info by email etc.. I have evidence of about 4 of these people, and wish to report them to the Police, but is it ever possible to catch them? I'd love to be involved in finding them. I cannot report each one to Gumtree because no doubt they change email addresses all the time, and I don't want to waste my time. This is not happening just in the UK, but everywhere...!
Back to top
jojamesbrown



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Sammers Reply with quote

Wow they seem to love me - here a few addresses to watch out for
intelsloane@yahoo.com
dave551966@hotmail.com
georgefindal@yahoo.com
bewarrenatty@aol.com
dastephenldry@aol.com

A good way to check where these people are in the world
Check out this link
http://www.ip2location.com/emailtracer.aspx

Folow the instructions by clicking on outlook, yahoo or hotmail etc
Back to top
penpact



Joined: 23 May 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Brighton, England

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 12:26 pm    Post subject: Email addresses Reply with quote

I don't think that's proof of where they are located, as when they set an email up they don't have to give accurate/true information do they?
Back to top
jojamesbrown



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2009 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi it gives you the country local ADSL provider and IP address
Back to top
kyochiyan



Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:18 pm    Post subject: PROPERTY SCUMMERS!! additional email accounts to be aware of Reply with quote

this guy is sayin he has gone to spain, his english was alright the first time, then later poses as someone with difficulty sayin send the money via western union then i'll come down with the key!

mrtnplmr50@gmail.com

this one from denmark:

stephen_alexander_w@yahoo.co.uk

please take care people!
Back to top
kyochiyan



Joined: 02 Nov 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:27 pm    Post subject: Re: PROPERTY SCUMMERS!! additional email accounts to be awar Reply with quote

kyochiyan wrote:
this guy is sayin he has gone to spain, his english was alright the first time, then later poses as someone with difficulty sayin send the money via western union then i'll come down with the key!

mrtnplmr50@gmail.com

this one from denmark:

stephen_alexander_w@yahoo.co.uk

please take care people!


in addition please look out for when they ask for western union transfers! thats where they get you!

another email to be aware of!!

cherrylewis96@yahoo.com
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7536

PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:33 pm    Post subject: Re: PROPERTY SCUMMERS!! additional email accounts to be awar Reply with quote

kyochiyan wrote:
this guy is sayin he has gone to spain, his english was alright the first time, then later poses as someone with difficulty sayin send the money via western union then i'll come down with the key!

mrtnplmr50@gmail.com

this one from denmark:

stephen_alexander_w@yahoo.co.uk

please take care people!


THE ENGLISH WOULD BE BETTER THE FIRST TIME AS MOST FOREIGN SCAMMERS WORK FROM STANDARD FORM LETTERS, THE GIVEAWAY COMES, AS YOUVE FOUND, WHEN YOU GET THEM OFF THEIR SCRIPT AND THE LEVEL OF ENGLISH SUDDENLY DROPS.
Back to top
muskaan



Joined: 21 Oct 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:15 am    Post subject: another 1 Reply with quote

Hello,
thanks for the mail.....16, Hanover Square, W1S 1HT ,it is available as soon as you want it.you can stay as long as you want to stay,its 600GBP for the whole apartment,all bills are included in the cost of the apartment,the bond is 700GBP..Like i told you that im not in London at the moment and that i just secured a new job in a company here in Dundee , so for you to get the keys to the apartment posted to you via DHL you will have to make a reservation payment for the place via a money agent to me here in Dundee but before the payment you and i will have to sign a rental agreement form in which i will like you to supply me the following details for me to prepare the form and send to you.you can move in as soon as you want:
Your name ...............
Your address........
Your move in and out date......
Your passport id number.......
Your date of birth........

So i will be waiting to read from you as soon as possible
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7536

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mUSKANN

A WEE EXPLANATION OF WHY YOU ARE POSTING THIS MIGHT HELP

are you asking iif its legit or are you showing a scam email?

It is of course a scam using western union
Back to top
jonin60seconds
Gumtree Admin


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 1286

PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, this one is scam!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Gumtree Feedback All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group