| Author |
Message |
jombag16
Joined: 11 May 2008 Posts: 5 Location: notts
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2008 1:00 pm Post subject: Meiri Mujkanovic- awalani2000@yahoo.com |
|
|
just want to ask you guys for your help
currently looking for a place to stay in london. will be moving there by june or july.
i posted on gumtree and a certain Meiri Mujkanovic replied
£100pw inclusive w/ £650 deposit @ baker st. in a 2 bed flat
he's asking for my info so that he could start with the tenancy agreement already.
then i got suspicious, coz i haven't seen the flat in person, so how sure is he that I will be the next flatmate? agreement w/o seeing the flat first? then he said he's going to send me a scanned passport so that i can be assured. i know it can be easily forged.
i googled the name and it came out that this person is in charge of student rents.
i think it sounds too good to be true.
please help!
thanks |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
the_tidy_kiwi Moderator
Joined: 26 Feb 2007 Posts: 472
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 3:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This definitely sounds like a scam. You should be able to view the property before you pay any money.
I would also advise yourself and everybody to read the 'Stay Safe' section before using Gumtree as it offers helpful tips to avoid being scammed on the internet! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Sanne

Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Unless your housing is arranged directly through your work or school, it's best to spend a few days in a hostel when you arrive so you can actually see places in person and meet the people you will be living with. There are too many scams so you can never be sure the person you are sending money to is legitimate. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|