| Author |
Message |
NSA1000
Joined: 10 Jun 2008 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 1:22 pm Post subject: BEWARE OF SCAMS-It could happen to you! |
|
|
I have always booked accommodation through the net, and paid deposits via western union many times..but this time was different! Just wanted to let everyone know that if it looks like an amazing deal-it probably is a scam! i was in a terrible situation 3 weeks ago. I found an ad on gumtree and was naive enough to believe i got a really good deal! I sent the owner funds through western union and received a contract after doing so. When i arrived to London-the place did not exist!!! and i ended up wondering the streets looking for accommodation! this has been reported to Gumtree admin,western union and the police. Its not about the money, as much as it is about the situation i was put in..and others who might be as trusting as i was..BE CAREFUL!! the website is www.victoriainn.info and the Scamer goes under the name of Brian Fulcher e-mail:travel@victoriainn.info
strange thing is-his website is still accessible?! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2582
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 2:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I know of no-one who would pay by w-u, whats wrong with a old fashioned cheque or what hotel does no take visa???? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
weeowen

Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 1250 Location: Someplace sharp.
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 4:12 pm Post subject: Re: BEWARE OF SCAMS-It could happen to you! |
|
|
| NSA1000 wrote: | | I have always booked accommodation through the net, and paid deposits via western union many times.. ... |
No offense, but in all my years of holiday (and more frequent work related) travel, which I choose to bbok myself (more flexibility, see), I have never paid by Western Union. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
bigblueeyes

Joined: 20 May 2008 Posts: 119
|
Posted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| did you not think to check the address before you left? or even better when you booked |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
NSA1000
Joined: 10 Jun 2008 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 8:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I live outside of the U.K (and therefore cannot check the address), and i do travel often..but usually i prefer to book seviced apartments over hotels and most of their procedures is to transfer a certain amount to secure the booking. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2582
|
Posted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok but never by w-u.
ive never used it in my life and
know of no-one who has used it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Leanna
Joined: 28 May 2008 Posts: 2 Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
|
Posted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Looking at their website, I'm surprised that you would've booked with them. Some of their links are dead, grammar is horrible, and the pictures are all doubles of each other. Besides all that, the prices are way to good to be true. Doubles for £350 a week over the summer? That's only £50 a day.
I have also stayed in many vacation apartments over the years of travel throughout the UK and Europe, but have never been asked to pay via Western Union. Most places either took VISA/MC, or only took cash upon arrival.
I would be leery of anyone that accepted Western Union, and would advise to avoid those places in the future.
Either way, thanks for the heads up.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
gums

Joined: 18 May 2008 Posts: 315
|
Posted: Fri Jun 13, 2008 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
| how could you fall for that one are never know.. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|