Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

How Dumb do they think we are????????

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale
Author Message
rishardamod



Joined: 09 Aug 2006
Posts: 1
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:48 pm    Post subject: How Dumb do they think we are???????? Reply with quote

This one from lx_longman@yahoo.com

(PS I'm an English teacher - first clue of a scammer is the poor english. This one takes it to the other extreme.)

Hello,

I am very interested in your advertised used unit you place for sale. I will be
happy if you can tell me the last asking price is going for and also, its present
working condition. Do respond to my offer with required details and other important
details on this item. I expect to hear from you in good time. I will really appreciate
if you send me picture's of of it. I can be reached on my cell phone number +447040109034.
Thanks and waiting to hear back from you as soon as possible.

Regards,
Alex.


Then a reply from alex after i gave him the details:



[color=red]
Hello, Good to hear from you and thanks for the mail. I have seen the pictures clearly
and i must tell you that the unit is okay. My client who is interested in the unit
has promised to be buying it and will be issuing an European Draft for the payment.
After which you have received the Draft and verified, the shipper will be coming
over to your place to pick up the unit and get it transported to my client's location.


To make things fast and convenient for the both of us, i will like you to give me
the exact name you want on the European Draft.....Your mailing address....(Street,City,State
and zip code) and your Phone #, so that i can forward it to my associate, so that
he could start with the procurement of the draft.


I won't mind to engage in a long lasting bussiness relationship with you.


Regard's
Alex.
Phone: +447040109034[/color]


Then one from James Brown (can't they think of any original names that are not european??????
james20brown@yahoo.com>
Hello,
I saw your ads,about you selling your item,so i will like to know if
it is still available and the final price for it,and i will also like
to know if the pics is available,as i will like to have a look.
So i await your urgent reply to this mail asap,so that we can proceed
with all necesary things asap.


Finally one from williams brown (Maybe they should talk to each other and work out a game plan.

williamsgroups@mail.nu

Hi Ya,
I came across your advert during my search for buying these item-----"Mitsubishi Pajero - Automatic,Pls let me know whether is still available for sale and also the price,my name is williams brown ,am situated in Canada the best country so far.I have a shipper that will be responsible for the shipment,shipment will not be your stress.but before payment, i will want you to make me asure you will be honest and trust worthy with me throught this transaction.Pay will issued by a certified GBP Bank draft.Pls let me know the prise pls.
williams brown


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Get Your Own .NU Web Address Now! ---> http://WWW.NUNAMES.NU


Flip I thought Canada had much cheaper 4x4's than UK.

I will continue to ask for cash and a person i can actually meet. Until then the war continues.

BE AWARE THAT THE LANGUAGE USED IN THESE EMAILS AREA LWAYS POOR AND THAT THE OFFER OF CASH WITHOUT EVEN SEEING THE ITEM IS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE.

NEXT I WILL BE WINNING SWEEPSTAKES AND LOTTERIES I HAVEN'T EVEN ENTERED.
Back to top
djnang



Joined: 14 Aug 2006
Posts: 24
Location: All location has been occupied

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeap total scams, no life thats why they do this crap....

I suggest to you reply back to him swearing as much as you can,well it worked for me and they stopped doing it Smile

Ps : Try threatening them as well Smile
Back to top
cakesy



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="djnang"]Yeap total scams, no life thats why they do this crap....
[/quote]

No, they do it because it works, and they can make a living out of it.

The best thing to do is ignore it, don't waste your time.

You can usually tell these emails, there English grammar is bad, they won't ring you, and ask for too many details.

Best thing to do is ask people who are interested to ring you, stay away from people who want you to send stuff overseas.
Back to top
jag
 
 


Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 127

PostPosted: Thu Sep 07, 2006 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

these scams alwyas work because YES, people are THAT dumb.
Back to top
Km26
 
 


Joined: 01 Aug 2006
Posts: 71

PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had many too that surname Brown crops up alot.
Back to top
adorebags



Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Send them a message telling them to get a proper job! They are annoying to people who know their game , but can cost people serious money . I wish we could come up with a way of stopping them.
Back to top
daman



Joined: 19 Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Location: London

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why are they always from Nigeria?

I have a lot of african friends... but I'm becoming more and more sceptical about Nigerians and don't really trust them....

I think something should be done!
Back to top
BOD



Joined: 18 Oct 2006
Posts: 26
Location: Swansea

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Theres a great story on the net about a guy who scammed a scammer. He was selling a laptop computer, when a scam artist got in contact the seller instead sent a file with letters selotaped to it. Because it went through UK customs the scammer had to pay VAT (17.5%) of the selling price of $2100, heh heh.
Back to top
skillipedia
 
 


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 93

PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my case I am still thinking how to expoit all those scams and generate
web traffics from them.
Back to top
brian77



Joined: 03 Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Location: N.Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

daman wrote:
Why are they always from Nigeria?

I have a lot of african friends... but I'm becoming more and more sceptical about Nigerians and don't really trust them....

I think something should be done!


We could bomb Nigeria
Back to top
Dr Jack
 
 


Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 2163

PostPosted: Fri Feb 09, 2007 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw - notice the telephone number he has given you is not a mobile number but an 07000 number, these cost a load more to call, and can be used as forwarders to their real number which is hidden.

Stop calling these numbers and people might stop using them, but most people still think they are just normal mobile numbers and ring them.

Beware they can cost you a fortune c £15 for a 10 minute call, and they will string the call out that long!!!!
Back to top
akaspike



Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:36 pm    Post subject: Scams Reply with quote

Hi folks - I got this tonight and it seems a bit suspicious. As far as I can see Gumtree don't get involved in the finance.
Anyone heard of Matt Averity?

Message Received: Apr 02 2007, 08:58 PM
> From: "Matt Averity"
> To: mike@radon22.fsnet.co.uk
> Cc:
> Subject: RE: Your Gumtree Oxford ad #8886483: Litespeed Sewanee Bike - Sz. 16.5 in Great Condition
>
>
> Hi,
>
> ok then,
>
> In order to start the process I need your full name and address for
> shipping:
> First name:
I got this when trying to get a bike, it may be innocent, but as far as I can see Gumtree don't get involved in the transaction. Am I right?

> Last name:
> Address:
> City:
> Zip:
> Country:
> I'll forward your details to Gumtree they will contact you via email with
> all the instructions regarding payment! In the email from Gumtree you'll see
> the protection that you have in this transaction! Email me back with the
> requested details(full name&address) so we can get the deal started.
>
> Regards,
>
Back to top
the_tidy_kiwi
Gumtree Moderator


Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys!

Please see our new 'stay safe' section.
http://www.gumtree.com/help/stay_safe

You can report these scams to us here so we can take action!
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group