| Author |
Message |
theincrowd
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:07 am Post subject: Is this dodgy? |
|
|
We are just about to sign a contract with a company called dahwood bond:
http://www.dashwoodbond.com/
They are not signed up by comapnies house however they say they have been a buissneess for over 15 years delaing with property. However when i handed over one weeks deposit the 'contract' was written on the back of ripped envelope.
They say they have been credit checking us with a company called MARAS although we have been sending the documentation straght to Dashwood bond rather than MARAS - who neither have a record of our names or that of dashwood bond.
We are due to sign tonight but am slightly wary because they also say they want to get it sone by the weekend because they are going away.
Grateful for advice. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 7537
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
Domain Name: DASHWOODBOND.COM
Registrar: ENOM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.enom.com
Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
Name Server: NS1.HARDHATHOSTING.NET
Name Server: NS2.HARDHATHOSTING.NET
Status: ok
Updated Date: 14-apr-2009
Creation Date: 14-apr-2008
Expiration Date: 14-apr-2010
contract on the back of an envelope????????
i dont know of any company who would do that
not signed with co house they could be a sole trader
no address on the website have you been to the property
have you met anyone?
are you handing over money without having seen a flat? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
theincrowd
Joined: 11 Aug 2009 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
do you think there are any checks i can do before tonight.
There address is also a place in sheffield although again no record of it anywhere.
Whats also worrying me is the flay is still being advertised on gumtree
http://www.gumtree.com/london/55/42839155.html |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
**Pika**
Joined: 23 Jul 2009 Posts: 42
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Contract on the back of an envelope?? RUN! RUN AWAY FAST!
There is no way that'd be legally binding (apart from not exactly being professional!) I would be very careful handing any money over to these people, probably best to avoid!  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mr_X

Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Dashwood Bond .com registered to:
Romer Verushka
with address:
57 Meersbrook Park Rd.
Sheffield, UK S8 9FN GB
And number: +44.1142496529
WHO also owns Petsmiles.com
That is registered to:
Romer Verushka
with address:
83a Kimberly Gardens
London N4 1LD
I do find it weird about the envelope. From their website it says they don't take deposits, which probably means that they own the properties.
However, it is quite rare for a landlord not to take a deposit.
I wouldn't like to say they are either dodgy, or legit. I'd go with my gut instinct, which usually it's right.
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|