| Author |
Message |
Sam8110
Joined: 24 May 2009 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:07 pm Post subject: Caution, possible Scam artist! |
|
|
I am currently looking for a place to live in edinburgh. This guy is advertising a room close to the centre for £300 a month. The photo's currently show a pink bedroom and matching furnishings. His email is twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk He was very insistant that i pay the requested deposit of £350 BEFORE he would let me even view the place. Said that he was very busy, had been let down before and wanted some form of security. He knew that i had the day off so was fully flexible on time to view the place, said he was working all day but still had the time to send numerous emails to me throughout the late morning and early afternoon requesting the deposit and arguing with me when i refused, always becoming more insistant.
While i can't guarantee that this guy is dodgy, it seems very suspicious to me, please just be careful. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 7556
|
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
how did he want paid?
if its western union def a scam |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Sam8110
Joined: 24 May 2009 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
| He never mentioned how he wanted paid and i haven't heard from him since. The only reason i'm not 100% sure it's a scam is that Western Union wasn't mentioned, everything else didn't seem right, i was just waiting for that, was the only thing missing. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 7556
|
Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i would never pay money before viewing
sounds well dodgy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Sam8110
Joined: 24 May 2009 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I totally agree mate. When he first mentioned it and i said no i thought no more of it, then he got more insistant and i was sat thinking, do i have MUG written on my forehead. Gotta wonder how many people have done it though and never seen the cash again. It seems that there's more and more dodgy people on Gumtree. I sold a few things about 3 months ago and had 3 different people saying that they were abroad and could they send me a cheque for £10,000, i take out what i wanted for the item (none of them were over £100) and forward the outstanding in a personal cheque of mine. I know it's free to post, but they need to keep an eye on it |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 7556
|
Posted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
i think they do
but as you say its free to post and free
to answer
what you were offered is a
cheque overpayment scam
(google it)
used for anyone renting property or selling a car |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
saffa33
Joined: 28 Jun 2006 Posts: 2 Location: Dublin
|
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:16 pm Post subject: twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk |
|
|
I have just had a similar response from
twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk
I will see If there is anything I can do to stop this Cretan. I will try to look at the age of this problem and see if there is anything I can do.
The Ad reference is 48970015 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
saffa33
Joined: 28 Jun 2006 Posts: 2 Location: Dublin
|
Posted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It seems the ad has been removed....  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|