| Author |
Message |
polster
Joined: 26 Mar 2007 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:30 pm Post subject: Scam or not? Your opinion please |
|
|
Hi
I'm selling a Playstation 3 on Gumtree and received this e-mail pretty quickly after I put the add up:
My name is tom brown i live in australia and i am
intrested in buying your item BRAND NEW PLAYSTATION 3
SEALED £500 for a freind in westafrica i will be
offering you 30pounds for shipping via royalmail.And i
will make payment via paypal.com/money order....do get
back to me with your paypal id or your address for
payment to be delivered to via money order asap
get back
I've heard about Nigerian scams on e-bay before so I emailed back saying that because of the risks involved I would need to add an extra £100. He got back saying this was ok and could I send him details of my Paypal account so he could make payment.
Scam or not?
My initial thought, once the money is in my account whats the problem?
My thanks in advance |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
scarletdevil

Joined: 26 Feb 2007 Posts: 529
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 8:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
polster,
yes it is a scam, they can scam you through paypal. From other postings I have read about this the money goes into your account but is taken back by them once you have sent the item. Don't let them have any of your personal or account details. If it sounds too good to be true, it is!! If you asked for an extra £200 they would probably agree as they don't actually give you anything. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bluey Community Moderator
Joined: 21 Mar 2006 Posts: 5644
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
remzobaba
Joined: 31 Dec 2006 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 10:38 pm Post subject: beware!!!! |
|
|
| beware!!! GUMTREE WARNING: AVOID THESE SCAMS IF U CANT MEET THE SELLER OR BUYER. Ignore that warning and regret it. be wise. it s a fucking scam. alternatively, u can ask the scammer to post or pay u thru paypal or whatever but you will only post after the authenticity of the money has been verified. also tell him/her that it will take you at least 2 months to verify and watch how he/she will stop bothering you. BE WISE. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
the_tidy_kiwi Gumtree Moderator
Joined: 26 Feb 2007 Posts: 610
|
Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 2:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is definately a scam.
We always advise our users to be careful when dealing with prospective buyers (and sellers) and have scam and fraud warnings on the site including
http://www.gumtree.com/seller_fraud_alert.html. You can also find hints and tips for dealing with buyers and sellers on our FAQ page including http://www.gumtree.com/gumtree_faq.html#45.
I will email you seperately polster and get the details so we can take action! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|