Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

Jobs for drivers?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Jobs
Author Message
Bakerss



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Leicester

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 11:00 pm    Post subject: Jobs for drivers? Reply with quote

Hi all has anybody heard of this company they are recruiting drivers for courier work and apparently pay £23ph! Please let me know
Back to top
mypebble27



Joined: 05 Mar 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid it's impossible to get this amount just for simple B cat or even van driving. As far as I know (and my friend is looking for a job as lorry driver with cat C) they offer circa 8-9 ph for cat C and 6-7 for van etc. so good luck but I don't think so. ahh, it's before tax Smile
Back to top
Bakerss



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Leicester

PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mypebble27 wrote:
I'm afraid it's impossible to get this amount just for simple B cat or even van driving. As far as I know (and my friend is looking for a job as lorry driver with cat C) they offer circa 8-9 ph for cat C and 6-7 for van etc. so good luck but I don't think so. ahh, it's before tax Smile
The cheeky bas...ds want me to pay fortysix pounds for a criminal check every two months dam its a scam
Back to top
rossmarilu



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Location: telford

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This CrB check is done every two months but cost only the one cost of £46. I'm thinking about it too but can't make up my mind.
Back to top
rossmarilu



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Location: telford

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:57 pm    Post subject: Jobs-for-drivers Reply with quote

I have had a good look around other forums and I am now 100% sure it is a cam, ran apparently by the same person who ran pathway driving services. both jfd & crs were set up on Jan 5th & are both mailboxes, STEER CLEAR
Back to top
benwell



Joined: 07 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:00 pm    Post subject: It's a scam Reply with quote

I paid my £50 for a CRB check, got a letter saying I was added to their database of drivers and that was the last I heard.
It's been 6 weeks, both their telephone numbers just ring and ring and they dont answer thier emails.
I rang CRS and spoke to a very convincing lady who said she was unable to discuss anything about their clients.
So what do we do now?
Surely we can get someone to investigate these companies?
M
Back to top
richardstarbuck



Joined: 07 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are u sure its a scam? i phoned them to ask if its ok if i use a different crb company and they said its fine, so how is it a scam if they dont get any money from you? is the CRS company the same people who run Jobs for Drivers? because if it is then it is def a scam.
Back to top
Bluey
Community Moderator


Joined: 21 Mar 2006
Posts: 5644

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Report any ads for these companies if advertised on the Gumtree to Gumtree Admin to review if you believe that they are operating scams.

Consider contacting your local trading standards of your local council for advice on how to deal with the fees you've paid and how to get them refunded.
Back to top
Bluey
Community Moderator


Joined: 21 Mar 2006
Posts: 5644

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's some info that i've found on google regarding those companies. Please confirm whether you have seen any adverts on Gumtree for it.

http://www.homeworking.com/discus/messages/17/71562.html?1179941099

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?p=5273783

http://www.codforum.org.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?p=21783&sid=26147daf548e19280f6e89d139768b1d

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=439275
Back to top
allanm



Joined: 09 Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Location: scotland

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:52 pm    Post subject: jobs for drivers Reply with quote

One way to get back at these leeches is to click their google ads a few times. Google "jobs for drivers" and you'll see the ad at the top of the page. If enough people click on it several times a day they might give up.
Back to top
PJSTOCK46.



Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOOKS LIKE IM ANOTHER SUCKER GOT CAUGHT OUT
GOT THE EMAIL THURSDAY TO SAY HAD BEEN ADDED TO DATABASE AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CONTACT THEM EVERSINCE
Back to top
PJSTOCK46.



Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOOKS LIKE IM ANOTHER SUCKER GOT CAUGHT OUT
GOT THE EMAIL THURSDAY TO SAY HAD BEEN ADDED TO DATABASE AND HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CONTACT THEM EVERSINCE
Back to top
City Plumber
 
 


Joined: 28 Feb 2007
Posts: 399
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2007 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This company was on the BBC's watchdog programme 2 or 3 years ago. Even then no one ever got work from it.
It might be an idea to report them to trading standards.
Back to top
cazzy1234



Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive got sucked in. Payed £49.65 to CRS and not heard a thing since. Tried to ring the so called JOBS FOR DRIVERS and cant get through so ive had no alternative but to report them to trading standards Mad
Back to top
impaired
 
 


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 280
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been thinking about getting a CRB check in advance of being asked for it, but do they only last two months Question
Back to top
alfie36



Joined: 15 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

add me to the list of suckers. £50 paid Twisted Evil
Back to top
callo25



Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ye and u can add me as well but they did not stop there they tried to get more money but i put a stop to that
Back to top
Bluey
Community Moderator


Joined: 21 Mar 2006
Posts: 5644

PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suggest that you bunch together and contact your trading standards officer of your local authority for advice on how to get your money back through civil means or if advised it's a scam that is a criminal offence, contact the Police.

If you've seen any adverts on the Gumtree, report them to Gumtree admin.
Back to top
Bakerss



Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 6
Location: Leicester

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:43 am    Post subject: JOBS FOR DRIVERS? Reply with quote

Right i have contacted the following person at my local newspaper his name is Daniel Nice and he works for the Leicester Mercury i mailed the paper telling them about the job and he was interested and i think is following it up so folks if any of you are interested and need the reporters contact details let me know by replying to this topic
Back to top
castlelgr
 
 


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 60182
Location: southampton

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 9:51 am    Post subject: Re: Jobs for drivers? Reply with quote

Bakerss wrote:
Hi all has anybody heard of this company they are recruiting drivers for courier work and apparently pay £23ph! Please let me know


23 an hour huh, for a courier.
looks like all the lawyers and doctors in the world are in the wrong profession.
Back to top
callo25



Joined: 16 Jun 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I want 2 know is why this scam is still running???????????? No-one is taking it seriously. OK the internet is a wealth of information and a fabulous tool but surely once these things are reported they should be stopped!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
skd11



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 11:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi! I have already sent 50.00 and they e-mailed me stating that I am on their database! I called the number and I spoke to a man! so i don't think its totally illegitimate.
Back to top
bachapman



Joined: 24 Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2007 4:01 pm    Post subject: CRB Checks Reply with quote

How come you have to be rechecked every 2 months?
I work at a school and we are only checked once - have been there 6 years and haven't been rechecked. Even our 'freelance' employees are only re-checked every 5 years (I think) - definitely not every 2 months.
Back to top
impaired
 
 


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 280
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:02 am    Post subject: Re: CRB Checks Reply with quote

bachapman wrote:
How come you have to be rechecked every 2 months?
I work at a school and we are only checked once - have been there 6 years and haven't been rechecked. Even our 'freelance' employees are only re-checked every 5 years (I think) - definitely not every 2 months.



I can only assume this is for people applying for a new job with an employer who doesn’t know you.
Back to top
hellopeeps



Joined: 28 Jun 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2007 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jobs for drivers is dodgy.......The G/F was gonna give them a chance...but no it`s a scam
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Jobs All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group