| Author |
Message |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:50 am Post subject: Is this Genuine? (Reading , Town Center Flat) |
|
|
Hi,
Please let me know if this is a genuine add:
http://reading.gumtree.com/reading/40/26657240.html
contact person:Executive 2 bedroom apartment stones throw from Reading Station
From: jags49@hotmail.com
Jag
0044 7773 816 989
I need to find a temp accomodation in Reading for 2 months and since I am in India, can't view the properties before booking them.
Any information about above add and the property is greatly appreciated.
What are the things I should be aware of before entering into any contract for rental?
I don't want to doubt any authentic landlords but after going through so many scam reports on Gumtree,just wanted to be sure .
Greatly appreciate any help from the informed people.
Thanks,
Vrush |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
itsmeme
Joined: 18 Mar 2008 Posts: 41
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 7:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
| i think it's a scam! Look at the phone number it's got 12 digits that looks to me like a premium rate phone number.I also checked the postcode and it's a fake.Watch out for scams they're everywhere on here.The best advice anyone can give you is to stay in a hostel or hotel when you arrive just until you find something.It's always better to view properties before hand..... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
impaired

Joined: 13 Jun 2007 Posts: 245 Location: London
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 8:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Isn't that No. a mobile phone with the UK international code in front?
I don't think that zip code "Rg1 2bj" exists. .... "Rg1 2jb" .. possibly.
vrn, why don't you get in touch ...
ask for the full address.
ask if it's available for 2 months only.
ask to see a copy of the contract.
let us know the landlord's answers.  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:01 am Post subject: thanks,few more details |
|
|
hi,
thanks for the reply.
I have spoken to the landlord a couple of time over this number.
the person answered with same name as mentioned in the add.
He has sent me an invoice ,which has the office address:
Cubric Limited
1 Kingshill Drive
Harrow,Middx
HA3 8TE, England
Phone 07773 816 989 Fax 07977 050 274
Googled on it and it does seem to exist.
so what else should I check for?
Thanks,
VRN |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:09 am Post subject: address of the property: |
|
|
Flat 8, The Chatham, Thorn Walk,
Reading, RG1 2BJ
If I enter it in http://maps.google.com
it recognises this postcode |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
weeowen

Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 1250 Location: Someplace sharp.
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, it does exist, and from 2006 as well.
http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/43a1e2735e1107f8c87c8597615ef5b4/compdetails
I don't quite get why they list their main buisness type as "Other membership".
| Quote: | Membership Organisations
9111 Business & employers organisations
9112 Professional organisations
9120 Trade unions
9131 Religious organisations
9132 Political organisations
9133 Other membership organisations |
They are cat. 9133, rather than Real Estate Management.
Also, there is no website, it seems.
Ask them how many other properties they manage, and why they are handling this particualr one. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:25 am Post subject: aggrement between whom? |
|
|
they claim to have many properties in and around reading town center area.
The aggreement document has the name THE LANDLORD
Mr Jagdeep Sidhu, 1 Kingshill Drive, Harrow, Middlesex, HA38TE
which same as advertised in the add.
In general in between who the agreement would be?
the letting agency and the tenant?
whose name would be mnetioned in the aggrement as landlord?
and the invoice has following as something simialr to letterhead logo:
Cubric Limited
1 Kingshill Drive
Harrow,Middx
HA3 8TE, England
Phone 07773 816 989 Fax 07977 050 274
also the poscode RG1 2BJ is recognised in maps.google , but if I just google on the postcode its not recognised.
Please advice.
Thanks,
Vrn |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
weeowen

Joined: 21 Apr 2008 Posts: 1250 Location: Someplace sharp.
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Ask for a landline number. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:50 am Post subject: Asking for deposite |
|
|
the person is asking me for deposite which is about 1200 GBP, he has give me his bank account details from First Direct Bank to transfer the money.
As per him the rent can be paid on the arrival.
Upon my request, he sent me photo page from his passport which matches to the link:
http://www.homelifetitus.com/jagsidhu/
Please Please let me know if I should belive it and go ahead with the deal?
Thanks,
VRN |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
reens

Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 916
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Has he asked you any questions, seen any refences? Don't you think it odd that he would rent a place to someone he has not yet met? A "premium" flat too?
Sounds very dodgy to me. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 10:59 am Post subject: |
|
|
yeah , you sound right.
I had given him information on which company I would be working.
After I asked him for his photo-identity(he sent passports photo page and banks summary statment), he asked me to do the same.
But this was only after I asked him for this info. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
reens

Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 916
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sounds like a scam.
The only link you have to a company that does exist is the mobile number he posted. There is no independant way to verify this, no landline nor website for the company, and it's primary purpose is not even Real Estate. It may well be in the rental industry, but would you want to rent from someone who is already doing the wrong thing? How fast do you think they would deal with any faults with the flat, if they were legit? No membership of any industry bodies, no history you can check.
Forget it, i would suggest.
It sounds to me more like someone searching the Comanpies House website (the Govt listing of all registered companies in the UK) for one that has no contact information, posting an add with a disposable mobile and the name, and waiting to see who comes along. The victim them checks to see if the company is legit. There is no way to independantly check that the Original Poster (ad placer) actually is connected to the company. You arrange the cash transfer. Where do you go when there is an issue? Not to the mobile - that is disposed of. So, it's a letter to the company who say "no idea what you are on about", and it's only the bank account you have left. The bank will tell you nothing due to privacy laws, the police likely say it is a civil issue, so it'll be a small claims court case - which you cannot do without the address of the person you are claiming against! So, you'd be screwed.
Walk away. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
reens

Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 916
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
vrn
Joined: 28 Jul 2008 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
now I find another wesite , with other person, but the same office address:
http://www.robdrysdale.ca/ |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bluey Community Moderator
Joined: 21 Mar 2006 Posts: 4806
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 5:54 pm Post subject: Re: Is this Genuine? (Reading , Town Center Flat) |
|
|
| vrn wrote: |
I need to find a temp accomodation in Reading for 2 months and since I am in India, can't view the properties before booking them.
Thanks,
Vrush |
Gumtree recommend that tenants do view properties in person and never wire money to a landlord they've never met. Follow our stay safe tips.
http://www.gumtree.com/help/stay_safe#item73
you are better off booking a hotel or hostel for when you arrive and doing your accommodation search when you arrive. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Cov

Joined: 03 Aug 2007 Posts: 2186 Location: London
|
Posted: Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Sorry ... as good as it looks, after reading the information provided so far, I have a bad feeling about it. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jiggyjaggy
Joined: 17 Sep 2008 Posts: 1 Location: SW1P
|
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Just to let you know we are in fact a legitimate company. However I can see people jump to conclusions with regards to the viability of a company who advertise on GumTree.
The person in question VM has moved into our property and is happy there, and their friend inspected the property on their behalf before they moved in.
We have several flats we advertise in Reading City Centre, and we have had approximately 30 happy short let tenants in the last 6 months.
It makes me laugh when people cant even tell what an international telephone code looks like!!! Idiot! This was written for ease of use, especially as the prospective tennant was internationally located. In my work I call this being organised and going the extra mile for our clients! For the person who didnt know 0044 is the international code for the UK, I suggest you attend primary school again!
We are currently in the process of setting up a new website as we are currently expanding. Small businesses have to start somewhere.
If anyone is looking for a professionally managed executive apartment on a short term basis, please feel free to contact me on 07974 453 567. Regards Jag, Cubric Ltd  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Mr_X

Joined: 18 Jan 2007 Posts: 109
|
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
Oi !
No cheap advertising here!  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|