Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

HOUSESITTERS AD - URGENT HELP NEEDED

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Jobs
Author Message
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:30 pm    Post subject: HOUSESITTERS AD - URGENT HELP NEEDED Reply with quote


Hi there - I was wondering if anyone had replied to the ad in the general jobs section looking for housesitters...

I got information e-mailed to me, and the job seemed like a very good deal - go away and look after properties in UK and Europe for weeks at a time, get your travel paid plus £70-£140 a week.

The only thing is, it didn't say anything about any kind of vetting procedures, which is strange cos usually places like these only hire retired couples after meeting them, getting numerous references and police checks etc...

The ad did ask for a check or postal order for £20 as an application fee (also didn't say who to make payable to).
There was an address and company number (which checked out on companieshouse.gov.uk) but no phone number or website

Just wondering if anyone had applied and heard anything back from them...?

Cheers,
Lynsey.
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

say he gets 50 people interested

20 x 50 an easy grand


how do you know its their company

do you know the ad no.

id be very wary of people who ask you for money up front

tell him youll give him it from your first job
that usually shuts them up

think about it it aint gonna happen
Back to top
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, when you put it that way...

Ad number is 48481391

company info I got in e-mail is
HouseSitters Ltd - Registered Address: 24 Daleside, Gerrards Cross,
Buckinghamshire SL9 7JE. Company No 04510363

Does this shed any light?

Cheers! Wink
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hang on

spooky Shocked

its gone

which usually means someone has checked it out an its a scam

ill have a shufti at the company


ok theres a company and a website and a very nice lady answering the phone

it is possible the person you contacted was using their name???

so you can have a shufti and make your own mind up

i would read the gumtree safety tip first though
Back to top
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange

They have put another ad up, that number is 49409931

Couldn't find any info on the 'company' online, there were ones with similar names but they only employed auld folk...
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.housesittersltd.co.uk/

is the website for that company name
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have spoke to the lady at the site and i reckon the ad is a con

did they use a free email address?


googling the phrase

"required to carry out basic cleaning and maintenance"

brings up a load


Last edited by montyzuma on Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm - yeah that's all I could find too...

Looks like a scam, oh well!

Thanks for your help!

Very Happy
Back to top
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eh yeah it was sitters@kyrro.com

and guys name was Gary
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

def scam
why arent they using their own email address

www is registered to

Administrative Contact:
Hume, G
Ground Floor
21 Canning Street
Dundee, Tayside DD3 7RZ
GB
+44.8458739883

when you phone the no. its st agneses church

prob a fake address too








House Sitters



House Sitters Ltd



House Sitters required for contracts and clients all over the UK and Europe. A full passport is necessary for identification and travel if necessary. Contracts are usually a minimum of one week up to a year and sometimes longer. As well as house sitting, you may be required to look after pets in the house. We prefer non-smokers, although smokers are considered provided you do not smoke inside the flat or house you are sitting. We provide full insurance for your contract duration and we pay an allowance from £70 up to £140 per week depending on the property, your food allowance is included in this fee. Your travel expenses to and from the property are also paid. You will be required to carry out basic cleaning and maintenance during your sitting depending on the needs of the client.

We have vacancies all over the UK, over 220 properties, and currently have over 83 vacancies in Italy, France and Spain.

Please contact us for details.

HouseSitters Ltd - Registered Address: 24 Daleside, Gerrards Cross, Buckinghamshire SL9 7JE. Company No 04510363.



Where to apply, inquire, or obtain further information
Gary


E-mail: housesitters@kyrro.com
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just spoke to the md at housesitter and she asked me to pass on her thanks to you for reporting this. definate scam

ill tell gumtree staff
Back to top
lynseyh



Joined: 20 Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Location: edinburgh

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much for your help too,

Can't beleive I almost fell for it!

Cheers
x
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7534

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

YEP YOUVE GOT TO BE ON YOUR TOES Cool

NEVER PAY MONEY UP FRONT Evil or Very Mad

AND GOOGLE IS YOUR FRIEND Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Jobs All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group