 |
|
| Author |
Message |
Wise Londoner
Joined: 17 Mar 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:08 pm Post subject: Warning |
|
|
Over the weekend I was sucked in by a scammer nearly costing me £1500.00
Vivian Malone was advertising a flat for £720 a month all bills included in Malbrook Place, Putney, but she lived in Leicester and was unable to come to London unless I put money into Western Union to my partner to collect, not realising with fake id this is what she was going to do!
She kept putting me off as she needed to contact her laywer - 3 times on a Sunday!!!! and would not give me any contact details and proceeded to ask for my photo! This is when I realised that it was a scam and quickly tried to withdraw the money.
You would think this would be easy as I have real id, my passport, my drivers but no, because Western Union are aware of scams they were saying I had to wait until Monday they were worried I was a scammer and wanted me to wait so they could speak to there head office which was not open on the weekend - I just hope that all Western unions are this cautious as if I had of waited any longer would the money still have been there?
To cut a very long weekend short we managed to get the money back after 4 hours of phone calls and sheer persistants. We did lose £60 in transfer fees, £20 in petrol and £30 in phone calls but this was a small price to pay to get out £1500.00 back!!
I just wanted to share this as it appears to be a common accurance and the more people that know the fewer that will lose money!!
The add is not on Gumtree anymore, I can only assume she was caught out or they got frightened off when I reported them to the police.
Vivian Malones e-mail address is vivian.1malone@googlemail.com - please be aware this is a con. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wildmuffin
Joined: 05 May 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:57 pm Post subject: i nearly lost £1600 by the same person!! |
|
|
I am so happy i found your post doing a bit of research on google about that vivian malone. She now rents her 3 bed fantastic flat in swiss cottage for £820 ALL inclusive and that was a bit too good to be true. She never gives her contact details, says she can't come to London as she lives in Leicester and needs the proof you have all the funds before moving in. Also, for a native english speaker and educated professional she makes a lot of spelling and grammar mistakes and that was a bit dodgy!
anyway thanks and i hope she or he or they won't manage to fraud anyone... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
orsolya
Joined: 06 May 2008 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue May 06, 2008 5:04 am Post subject: who knows abbey awa? |
|
|
If you know Abbey Awa, please help me!
I saw his advertise here, in the Gumtree and after that I sent for him 400 pounds, he disapeared and stole my money. So, I don't have a holiday flat, and I don't have money. Please help for me! I'd like to find this men. He's data:
Abbey Awa
flat4 3hermitage close
london,abbeywood,
se2 9nh.
website;www.awa4u.com
E-mail;awa.abbey@yahoo.co.uk
+442083116774
Thanks for your help
Orsolya
ferenczi@operett.hu |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|