 |
|
| Author |
Message |
Diania
Joined: 29 Apr 2008 Posts: 1 Location: Coventry
|
Posted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 10:12 pm Post subject: Kami - kamiben287@googlemail.com - SCAM with Western Union |
|
|
Iīve received an e-mail from this Kami - kamiben287@googlemail.com - regarding a flat in Coventry and finally he/she tried the Western Union trick. Here you have the sequence of the e-mails:
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
Good to hear from you that you are serious, i must tell you that i am ready to come and meet you so that we can conclude on the contract because i only receive money after viewing...Even only in the presence of my lawyer.But i will like you to proof it to methat there is money available after viewing.I have a a better suggestion for the safety and security of both of us you send the security deposit and a month payment to your friend,family,partner or anybody in Conventry via any western union agent around you and scan the receipts or give me the details by email so that i can check if the money is available then immediately i will arrange for the view if possible today and after the view you go and collect the money back from the nearest western union agent and pay me in cash in the
presence of my lawyer and in return with a payment receipts after signing the rental agreement or pay me later since am already convinced that you are capable.
The transfer charges will be given back to me as soon as we meet for the view or will be deducted from the rent.
Thanks for your understanding and i await to read from you soon
Me:
And how would you like to know that?
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
Is one bedroom flat and i need to know there is money available for the property after viewing.
Kami
Me
Anyway viewing doesnīt mean that weīll take any commitment in renting the flat. We might like it or not..
And regarding the money, I said that we would pay 300Ģ/month with everything included, for both of us. I guess youīll have to take my word.
And you didnīt answer my question: if itīs one bedroom flat or a shared flat?
Diana
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
Anyday is okay for me because you have to see and view the property before making payment or signing the rental agreement.I just need to be covinced that i am not coming there to waste my time again for i've been fooled on this viewing issue and i don't want to ever
waste my time again.I once arrange viewing with a couple and later turns to a waste of time because the couples are not capable of paying the agreed money.So since then,i've suggested that i won't arrange vieiwng if i am not coninvced that the person i am coming
to meet is serious and capable of meeting my demands after viewing...i wait to hear from you soon.
Kami
Me:
Hello,
So I could understand that it would be ok if we pay 300Ģ/month?
And a thing that I didnīt get very well..is the flat one bedroom flat? As we would like to stay just ourselves.
Regarding to taking care of the flat and seriousness, we are the wright persons, as we like order, cleaness, we are very tidy and we like to stay in a nice and welcoming place, to feel that is a home, not just a rented flat. So no worries about that.
We would be interested just from Oct 2008.
Could we arrange a viewing? For us itīs ok any day after 19.00.
Kind Regards,
Diana
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
The money is not the problem but i am looking for a neat and capable tenant...
Me:
Hello,
>
> Thanks for the info, but we could pay maximum 300Ģ/month.
>
> Regards,
> Diana
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
Its a pleasure reading
> about you about your need am looking for a
> serious and neat tenant who will take good care of my flat. The flat
> is fully furnished with home utilities
> like;electricshower,microwave,dryer,iron,bed sheet,,gas
> cooker,refrigerators, dishwahser,,heater, tv set and dvd player,easy
> access to internet,equiped kitchen , it is located at Warwick
> St,Coventry,West Midlands,CV5 6ET Uk the rent is Ģ400 monthly
> including all bills and the security deposit is Ģ350 and it is
> refundable if there are no damages in the flat either on property or
> utilities for i want my properties secured. i wait to hear from you
> asap
> Best regard
> kami
Me:
Hello,
> >
> > Thanks for replying.
> >
> > Could you give me more details? In what locations in Coventry are the one
> > bedroom flats? How much would be the rent for a couple with everything
> > included ? Are there also the other facilities like internet connection,
> > kitchen, private bathroom, washing machine?
> >
> > Kind regards,
> > Diana
Kami Benjamin <kamiben287@googlemail.com> wrote:
Hello
> > Am searching online when i came through your advert that you are in
> need
> > of one bedroom flat,i have one for you in the location of your choice,get
> > back to me for more details.
> > kami
From a moment on I could tell it was a scam, but I just wanted to see what trick will he/she try to use
Another e-mail from micheal.alex1@yahoo.co.uk in which was used the exact same way of introduction: "Its a pleasure reading about you and your needs and am glad to hear from you too.I am looking for a serious and neat tenant who will take good care of my of property the flat is furnished with home utilities like;electricshower,microwave,dryer,iron,bedsheet,,gascooker,refridgetor,dishwahser,heater,cable ready,tv set and dvd player,easy access to internet,equiped kitchen." - even the same writing mistakes..
Be careful and donīt send any money in these ways.
Cheers,
Diana |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
carolinem809
Joined: 01 May 2008 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 9:30 am Post subject: Kami Benjamin email |
|
|
I had the exact same "landlord" contacting me. At that point I didn't know it was a scam, but didn't like the location of his flat so told him I wasn't interested. On reflection, I realise he was just the first of 7 different names contacting me about a non existent flat requiring Western Union money exchanges.
I've now had John Benedeth, Alvin George, Ruben Douglas, Charles Goodluck, Nelly Smith, Wade Kent and of course, Kami Benjamin. Not all of them have got to the sob story stage about needing money upfront, but you can tell from the pictures and too good to be true rent with all inclusive bills. Two of them even used the same collage of straight-from-the-catalogue rooms photos!
I'm so angry that these people are still contacting me. To date, I think I've had just ONE genuine response to my flat wanted ad, compared to the 7 fakers. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
the_tidy_kiwi Gumtree Moderator
Joined: 26 Feb 2007 Posts: 500
|
Posted: Fri May 02, 2008 3:49 pm Post subject: Re: Kami Benjamin email |
|
|
| carolinem809 wrote: | I had the exact same "landlord" contacting me. At that point I didn't know it was a scam, but didn't like the location of his flat so told him I wasn't interested. On reflection, I realise he was just the first of 7 different names contacting me about a non existent flat requiring Western Union money exchanges.
I've now had John Benedeth, Alvin George, Ruben Douglas, Charles Goodluck, Nelly Smith, Wade Kent and of course, Kami Benjamin. Not all of them have got to the sob story stage about needing money upfront, but you can tell from the pictures and too good to be true rent with all inclusive bills. Two of them even used the same collage of straight-from-the-catalogue rooms photos!
I'm so angry that these people are still contacting me. To date, I think I've had just ONE genuine response to my flat wanted ad, compared to the 7 fakers. |
Sorry to hear that you have had such a bad response. Not sure if you have already, but you may want to report them to us. The sooner they are reported the sooner we can find ways of stopping them contacting others. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
smcgartland83
Joined: 07 May 2008 Posts: 2 Location: Northern Ireland/Scotland
|
Posted: Wed May 07, 2008 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
| I had the same guy contact me about a flat in Edinburgh - i have reported it to gumtree. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
moneal136
Joined: 25 Jun 2008 Posts: 1 Location: Mullion ,Cornwall
|
Posted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 10:09 pm Post subject: Thanks guys |
|
|
I thought there was something funny about a flat with two kitchens and three dining tables as the photos showed, but when I was requested to send money via Western Union I smelt a rat and started to check, and there on the forum I found an almost exact copy of the e-mail I received.
I have three more names to add to the list.
l.pedro111@yahoo.com
t.jerry111@gmail.com
henryshapman@yahoomail.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
gums

Joined: 18 May 2008 Posts: 283
|
Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
| yes there are many of scammers like this that operate in this way many just dont get involved with them |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|