| Author |
Message |
The_Reaper
Joined: 10 May 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 3:20 pm Post subject: I take it this is a scam ? |
|
|
i take it that is is a scam,
an email i recieved
PayPal
Dear **** *****,
You have an Instant Payment of £150.00 GBP from J*** Z**** (jo******@yahoo.com)
Payment Details
Purchased From: **** *****
Transaction ID:5NS50308X5616661C
Item Site Item Title Quantity Price Subtotal
Gumtree Manchester ad #20155957: Nokia N80 & 6600 Mobile Phones 2 £110.00 GBP £110.00 GBP
Postage & Packing via Standard Delivery :
(includes any seller packing fees)
£40.00 GBP
Pay pal tax: £5.00 GBP
Postage Compensation (not offered): --
Total: £150.00 GBP
Payment Information:
We have just recieved payment for Gumtree Manchester ad #20155957: from the J** Z*** (j******a@yahoo.com)Although payment has been recieved by us, it is currently pending due to the shipping address specified on the Paypal Reciept. We have now verified this shipping address and it is now safe to post the item out to this address in United Kingdom. For protection purposes, we have decided to hold the payment until you have supplied us the shipment reference number for the shipment of the item. This shipment reference number will be verified within 5 minutes, then your account will be credited after we must have confirmed the shipment. Do understand that this security measures are taken to protect the Gumtree community. Contact the Paypal representative who handled this transaction at reference_details@post.com immediately with the shipment reference number so we can credit your account.
We have notified you of the buyers user account troubles and have promised to restore the account back to its original owner. Gumtree and Paypal have succssfully resolved the issues with the buyers account and have completed investigations and concluded it was the original owner who actually purchased your item off Gumtree The auction listing has now been restored on the Gumtree and Paypal database and the buyer has completed the purchase by authorizing payment accordingly.
You are required to follow our instructions immediately and complete the transaction.
Note: Do not send the shipment reference number to the buyer until we have confirmed the status of the shipment and credited your Paypal Account.
Delivery Information
Address:
John Ben
65 CasmirRd Hckney
London E5 9NU
United Kingdom.
Address Status: Confirmed
Thank you for using PayPal!
The PayPal Team
Copyright © 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved. PayPal (Europe) Limited is authorised and regulated by the Financial Services Authority in the United Kingdom as an electronic money institution. PayPal FSA Register Number: 226056.
PayPal Email ID PP307
So can any confirm if its is a scam ? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Dirty Mom

Joined: 15 Jan 2008 Posts: 1123
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 4:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Scam.
Mail the adress some poo in a box. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
The_Reaper
Joined: 10 May 2008 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 9:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Dirty Mom wrote: | Scam.
Mail the adress some poo in a box. |
Thanks for confirming |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2200
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2008 11:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
| it'll be a fake address. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Granny Thacker

Joined: 10 May 2008 Posts: 130
|
Posted: Mon May 12, 2008 8:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| montyzuma wrote: | | it'll be a fake address. |
Isn't the post about someone sending a phone to someone though? How will the scammers get the phones otherwise. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2200
|
Posted: Tue May 13, 2008 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| troo, who knows the wiles and ways of crooks. might be his dear old sainted granny or a shared flat with a fake name |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|