Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

Is this dodgy?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation
Author Message
theincrowd



Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:07 am    Post subject: Is this dodgy? Reply with quote

We are just about to sign a contract with a company called dahwood bond:

http://www.dashwoodbond.com/

They are not signed up by comapnies house however they say they have been a buissneess for over 15 years delaing with property. However when i handed over one weeks deposit the 'contract' was written on the back of ripped envelope.

They say they have been credit checking us with a company called MARAS although we have been sending the documentation straght to Dashwood bond rather than MARAS - who neither have a record of our names or that of dashwood bond.

We are due to sign tonight but am slightly wary because they also say they want to get it sone by the weekend because they are going away.

Grateful for advice.
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7536

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Domain Name: DASHWOODBOND.COM

Registrar: ENOM, INC.

Whois Server: whois.enom.com

Referral URL: http://www.enom.com

Name Server: NS1.HARDHATHOSTING.NET

Name Server: NS2.HARDHATHOSTING.NET

Status: ok

Updated Date: 14-apr-2009

Creation Date: 14-apr-2008

Expiration Date: 14-apr-2010



contract on the back of an envelope????????
i dont know of any company who would do that


not signed with co house they could be a sole trader

no address on the website have you been to the property
have you met anyone?

are you handing over money without having seen a flat?
Back to top
theincrowd



Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you think there are any checks i can do before tonight.

There address is also a place in sheffield although again no record of it anywhere.

Whats also worrying me is the flay is still being advertised on gumtree

http://www.gumtree.com/london/55/42839155.html
Back to top
**Pika**



Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Contract on the back of an envelope?? RUN! RUN AWAY FAST!
There is no way that'd be legally binding (apart from not exactly being professional!) I would be very careful handing any money over to these people, probably best to avoid! Confused
Back to top
Mr_X
 
 


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 207

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dashwood Bond .com registered to:

Romer Verushka
with address:
57 Meersbrook Park Rd.
Sheffield, UK S8 9FN GB
And number: +44.1142496529


WHO also owns Petsmiles.com
That is registered to:
Romer Verushka
with address:
83a Kimberly Gardens
London N4 1LD


I do find it weird about the envelope. From their website it says they don't take deposits, which probably means that they own the properties.

However, it is quite rare for a landlord not to take a deposit.

I wouldn't like to say they are either dodgy, or legit. I'd go with my gut instinct, which usually it's right.

Cool
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group