Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

Caution, possible Scam artist!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Scam Watch
Author Message
Sam8110



Joined: 24 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:07 pm    Post subject: Caution, possible Scam artist! Reply with quote

I am currently looking for a place to live in edinburgh. This guy is advertising a room close to the centre for £300 a month. The photo's currently show a pink bedroom and matching furnishings. His email is twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk He was very insistant that i pay the requested deposit of £350 BEFORE he would let me even view the place. Said that he was very busy, had been let down before and wanted some form of security. He knew that i had the day off so was fully flexible on time to view the place, said he was working all day but still had the time to send numerous emails to me throughout the late morning and early afternoon requesting the deposit and arguing with me when i refused, always becoming more insistant.

While i can't guarantee that this guy is dodgy, it seems very suspicious to me, please just be careful.
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7556

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

how did he want paid?

if its western union def a scam
Back to top
Sam8110



Joined: 24 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

He never mentioned how he wanted paid and i haven't heard from him since. The only reason i'm not 100% sure it's a scam is that Western Union wasn't mentioned, everything else didn't seem right, i was just waiting for that, was the only thing missing.
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7556

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would never pay money before viewing
sounds well dodgy
Back to top
Sam8110



Joined: 24 May 2009
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I totally agree mate. When he first mentioned it and i said no i thought no more of it, then he got more insistant and i was sat thinking, do i have MUG written on my forehead. Gotta wonder how many people have done it though and never seen the cash again. It seems that there's more and more dodgy people on Gumtree. I sold a few things about 3 months ago and had 3 different people saying that they were abroad and could they send me a cheque for £10,000, i take out what i wanted for the item (none of them were over £100) and forward the outstanding in a personal cheque of mine. I know it's free to post, but they need to keep an eye on it
Back to top
montyzuma
Community Moderator


Joined: 25 Jul 2007
Posts: 7556

PostPosted: Sat Aug 29, 2009 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i think they do

but as you say its free to post and free
to answer

what you were offered is a
cheque overpayment scam

(google it)
used for anyone renting property or selling a car
Back to top
saffa33



Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Dublin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk Reply with quote

I have just had a similar response from

twhitmore156@yahoo.co.uk

I will see If there is anything I can do to stop this Cretan. I will try to look at the age of this problem and see if there is anything I can do.

The Ad reference is 48970015
Back to top
saffa33



Joined: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Dublin

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems the ad has been removed.... Shocked
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Scam Watch All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group