Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

Please help I need info on a potential scam your thoughts?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale

Scam or no scam?
Definitely a scam
66%
 66%  [ 2 ]
Maybe a scam
33%
 33%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 3

Author Message
babydollleasha



Joined: 28 Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Bexleyheath

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 9:00 pm    Post subject: Please help I need info on a potential scam your thoughts? Reply with quote

Hiya I received what appeared to be a dodgy email after replying replying to a job advert on gumtree. Here's what it says:-
Thanks for your response.

"My details are:
Steven Ernest Elias
312 Preakness Ct
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
(559) 761-0899
Fax : 914.455.5742
Social Security Number: 348 62 8386
Date Of Birth: 04-10-1952

I'm a business from Walnut Creek, CA 94597, USA and i often have UE customers in my business. The problem is when they are paying me, because a payment from UE countries to USA can take up to 10 days and some of them wish to get their products as fast as possible.

The job i'm looking for is actually a part job, it does not required full time service from your side. If you are able to make or have your own bank account where my UE payments can go i can share with you 10% of the sales. Of course you will also have to keep a good evidence of what's in and out, but at the end 10% of the total incoming will be yours. I estimate you could get somewhere near $1-1500/month.

Let me know if you are interested.
Sincerely yours ,
Steven Elias"


Now for some reason this doesn't seem quite right to me. I'm sure this has to be illegal but i'm not sure why. Someone must have an insight as to similar scams and how they work if it is a scam?
I am familiar with a lot of scams and this is a new one to me so if someone could help decypher what he wants that would be fabulous.
Thank you for your help in advance!
Back to top
Bipolar Bear
 
 


Joined: 08 Feb 2006
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2006 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes this is a common scam. its money laundering. gumtree has always been dodgy but now its just full of this shit, i would never apply for any job advertised on here.
Back to top
des_enzano



Joined: 01 Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Edinburgh

PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2006 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's definitely a scam. Here is another one of the same kind posted in three different places:

http://edinburgh.gumtree.com/edinburgh/72/6066972.html

I am tracey sanderson,I am an artist,and the owner of Tracey Art online .I live and work in
usa with my kids and my husband max who is also a Contractor.I have been into artwork since

childhood.That gives me years of experience.I have so many clients in the United Kingdom who

appreciate my artistic works but I do have problems when it comes to Payment,because all my clients

always offer to pay me with United Kingdom checks, and I find it very difficult to cash them in

usa banking system,I'm searching for a representative in United Kingdom that will be able to cash

the United Kingdom checks and wire the available funds to me in usa.You are entitled to 10%

commission for any transaction. This transaction is risk free and legal from the American

Government.Thanks for your anticipated assistant,

tracey sanderson.
Director of TRACEY ART ONLINE,
Austin, TX 78754 usa.
email. tracey_sanders00@inbox.com

http://houston.backpage.com/employment/classifieds/ViewAd?oid=oid%3A394036&name=general%20jobs

I am Tracey Sanderson, an artist who lives & works in the UK. I am searching for a rep in US that will be able to cash money orders from clients here and wire the funds to me in Britain. You are entitled to 10% commission for any transaction. Please get back to me at traceysanderson00@inbox.com

http://www1.ietf.org/spam-archive/irtf-announce/msg02209.html

Hello,
I am tracey sanderson,I am an artist,and the owner of Tracey Art World
.I live and work in
UK with my kids and my husband david who is also a Contractor.I have
been into artwork
since childhood.That gives me years of experience.I have so many
clients in the United
States who appreciate my artistic works but I do have problems when it
comes to
Payment,because all my clients always offer to pay me with U.S POSTAL
MONEY ORDERS, and I
find it very difficult

to cash them in Uk banking system,I'm searching for a representative
in United States that
will be able to cash the MONEY ORDERS in America and wire the
available funds to me in
Britain.You are entitled to 10% commission for any transaction. This
transaction is risk
free and legal from the American Government.Please get back to me on
note .email me in this email. tracey_sanders00@inbox.com

Thanks for your anticipated assistant,
tracey sanderson.
Director of TRACEY ART ONLINE,
London, United Kingdom.
email. tracey_sanders00@inbox.com
Back to top
londoner
Community Moderator


Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks - these scams have now been deleted - please click on the report an ad link on the ad if you ever see an ad like this and we will get rid of it fast...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Stuff For Sale All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group