| Author |
Message |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:28 am Post subject: Crew Agency tip ! |
|
|
Hello everybody!
I just want to tell everyone I've got a job! I'm sooooo happy! I've been sending my resume to evey crew agency in the world, at least it feels like it. And today... at last! I got a mail from Luxury Crew. I have to pay 249 euros to get the job but hey... it's totally worth it! I'll be making that kind of money every day from now on Correction, from 17 january, because that's when I leave to go to Brazil. I still can't beleve it!
Anyway... I just wanted to share my joy and give some credit to the agency: luxurycrew.com .
Anna Larsson |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
You shouldnt pay an agency a fee as they would get a fee from the employer, where are they based?
I would check that out if I was you..... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
That's what I thought as well at first but if you read at their homepage you can see that they don't get paid from the employeer. Sure, it would be better to get the job without paying the fee but if I fon't pay I don't get any job. I don't have any experince of being on the sea. I worked as a waitress last summer and that's why I got the job.
I don't know where they're based, Brazil maybee. Does it matter? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
| id check them out if I was you just in case |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Check them out how? You don't think the job is good? I'm getting worried here. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 11:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
| what is their web address |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| luxurycrew.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| am.larsson wrote: | | luxurycrew.com |
hmm office is in malaysia..have they told you what boat you will be working on and who to report to at what time? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| sounds a bit of a scam if you ask me, I would never recommend using an agency other than one in the UK or where you are based, especially if it involves handing over your own money!! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| no contact name on web site and no certificication also an find any registrered trading name |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| yeh looks dodgy to me... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bipolar Bear

Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 176
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 2:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| I dont know much about cruise ship jobs but common sense tells me that ~250EUR/day for a cruise ship job with no previous experience is way too good to be true. I know there are others here who have worked cruise ships before - maybe they can give some idea of ballpark pay/salay figures for first timers. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bipolar Bear

Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 176
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| anna it is scam im convinced now it all seems to make sense |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 5:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Yeh thought as much... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Well, I really hope it's not a scam! I payed them just before I read your comments. They haven't contacted me yet. Maybee I lost the money. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
| am.larsson wrote: | | Well, I really hope it's not a scam! I payed them just before I read your comments. They haven't contacted me yet. Maybee I lost the money. |
phone them or email them or whatever you do to contact them..now and make sure.
BTW it is a scam..noboday can ask fo money unless a service as been rendered Ie you actually start working |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I called and asked what boat I was going to work on. I was told that the boats name is Shining Dolphin. And he told me that the job starts on the 17:th of january with an introduction. I have to get the flight ticket to Rio de Janeiro my self. They will help me to get a visa because I'm going to several countries like Florida and islands in the carribean.
So it still seems alright. The guy seemed friendly and he said he's going to send me more detailed information in writing to my home adress. We'll see how it goes. Should I go or should I demand a refund? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
moomoogirl
Joined: 12 Dec 2006 Posts: 6
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 12:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think it still seems dodgy to be honest. I would call your bank and stop the payment until you are 100% sure. I would doubt any company could help you get a visa, all they could do is give you some paperwork to confirm a job offer. The rest is up to the consulate/embassy.
Try and do a bit more research and see if you can find anyone who has worked with them before.
Goodluck! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
castlelgr

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 60182 Location: southampton
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| moomoogirl wrote: | I think it still seems dodgy to be honest. I would call your bank and stop the payment until you are 100% sure. I would doubt any company could help you get a visa, all they could do is give you some paperwork to confirm a job offer. The rest is up to the consulate/embassy.
Try and do a bit more research and see if you can find anyone who has worked with them before.
Goodluck! |
agreed with above.....all im saying ammy is that no one should ask for money before they have provided their service, it is unethical, and illegal in some countries.. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Adyona

Joined: 21 Nov 2006 Posts: 51
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just don't get the part where you had to pay upfront when you haven't even started you're new job yet.
Also, never pay unless you have signed a contract or something in that direction.
If i would have to pay a company like this, i would want it in writing to.
It is already strange enough that you need to pay them. But also that you need to pay them before everything is final.
You haven't even bought your ticket! And i truly believe you should've paid after receiving the detailed info in writing.
A company, for as far as i know, is not really allowed to take your money without you receiving all the info.
Telling you in advance what the boat name was etc.
I would ask the money back and pay them once having signed some sort of a agreement.
It is also a lot of money you have to pay them.
249,- euro is shitloats! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
yeh i agree as well, read that link, its defo a scam!!
did you receive anything in writing? contract etc? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
am.larsson
Joined: 11 Dec 2006 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got a letter today with all the details. This is hard for me! How do I know this is serious? If it's a scam, why do they send me details like this? They gave me phonenumbers to contact persons and everything. I called and it all seems to be in order. They want me to come on the 17:th as they said before. I'm not getting 250 euros a day ofcourse but almost 50. Are they just trying to get more money from me?
I really want to go but you've freaked me out here!!!  |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Richie01

Joined: 30 Oct 2006 Posts: 210
|
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you have checked them out, I would see if you can check them out more especially if you have to then pay for flights to get there.
Did they give you a phone interview before or was it just take your money and give you a load of phone numbers?
Have you received a contract of employment? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bipolar Bear

Joined: 08 Feb 2006 Posts: 176
|
Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2006 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| the key factor at this point in time i think is that its now probably too late to get your bank to halt payment, so that cash is gone one way or the other. have you already booked and paid for your flight? if so, can you cancel and get a refund? if not then you really have no choice but to go to rio or wherever it is, and find out. worst case you get to rio find out its a scam, take it as a learning experience, and have a holiday. at least your flight is not completely wasted. i find it strange i cannot find any other information about this company on the web at all. either they are just starting up or you would think there would be at least a few other references from people who have used them. I would still reckon its a scam. Small chance it could be legit, but i doubt it. Particulary since they are registered in malaysia which seems to have a bit of a reputation for these scams. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|