| Author |
Message |
bppjr
Joined: 05 Jun 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:57 pm Post subject: Potential Scam?? |
|
|
Hi all,
Wondering if anyone has any feedback on tickets for sale advertised by lewis@worldwideticketslive.com.
They claim to be an independent ticket company and have tickets advertised for:
£150 V Festival(London) 12/05
£75 Leed and Reading Festival(London) 14/05
£75 Leed Reading Festival(London) 17/05
£100 Madonna, Wembley Arena Block C(London) 10/04
£75 T in the Park(London) 10/04
£100 George Michael(London) 23/04
It is one of those cases where you pay the money and receive the tickets later. Anyone dealt with these guys then please let me know?
It sounds ok? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
mountainwiccan

Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 55 Location: not telling!!
|
Posted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 6:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
To be honest I would steer clear of any ticket company that wants you to receive the tickets either a day or so before the event or on the same day as the event.
There was something on the tv about this sort of thing a few months ago with loads of buyers being scammed when they'd show up waiting for the tickets and the person who would be delivering them, only to be left standing! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Hotelkills

Joined: 04 Jun 2006 Posts: 61 Location: London (soon)
|
Posted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
Have you googled the company name/details?
I've found several scams out that way. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
lp
Joined: 14 Jun 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:19 pm Post subject: madonna tickets |
|
|
| This is definately too good to be true,I have tickets for madonna and they cost over £170 each!There is no way they would sell them for £100 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ljp
Joined: 13 Jul 2006 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 5:50 pm Post subject: Worldwideticketslive - are they a scam?? |
|
|
I note that you enquired about the above company being a scam, I am looking to purchase some tickets from them and would appreciate any feed back from anyone who has used them. Their offers seem to good to be true at outset !!!!
I have had numerous exchange of emails, but there are too many grey areas for my liking
*Worldwidetisketslive website is underconstruction and has been for past 2 weeks, so can only get front page, which has no information. Not only that the page is adverting google, web pages at a cost of £3:95 or something, so anyone could have set it up.
*The address the guy (in my case Lewis) uses doesn't seem to exist, I have tried to search on the internet. When I put my home address in as example, plenty came up, very close.
* The Bank account provided is in the name of an individual, which isn't the person I have been corresponding with.
*Payment is to be made directly into the individuals account, over the counter - to speed things up and of course before tickets are even issued. Surely if this company was real they would have a bank account, or may use Pay Pal.
*All emails are out side normal office hours (9-12 2-5:30). Mobile number is never answered but, texts are sent. They have been chasing for funds as to take cash to bank.
*I've tried Google, Ask Geeve, Yahoo & Lycos to try and see if this company exists but there is nothing other than their web address
So make up your own minds but I have managed to talk myself out of handing over any cash, until I receive valid evidence confirming otherwise.
I hope I am wrong for all those people who have used this company.
I would appreciate any feed back but only relating to this company.
An Honest Person[/code] |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ljp
Joined: 13 Jul 2006 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:09 pm Post subject: Worldwideticketslive - Just ask more questions !!! |
|
|
Well it is amazing how quick you find answers to questions, when you chase. I have since which recieved an email which has put my mind at rest.
So I will take the gamble and fingers crossed, and will up date this when I hear more.
X
Betsy |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ljp
Joined: 13 Jul 2006 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 6:19 pm Post subject: Re: Worldwideticketslive - Just ask more questions !!! |
|
|
| [quote=""] |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
419
Joined: 20 Jul 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I wouldnt touch them with a barge pole.
Not only are they offering expensive tickets for a lot less than they are worth(too good to be true????) but www.worldwideticketslive.com is a website that is only registered for a year | Quote: | | Created 11-may-2006 Updated 11-may-2006 Expires 11-may-2007 |
The registration details are hidden behind domainsbyproxy.com
Begs the question...why would a company register a website for one year only and do what they can to not be traced???
forget all that! why would a "company"use a free add-ridden website??
 |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jag

Joined: 01 Jul 2006 Posts: 127
|
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 8:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| NO POINT NO POINT NO POINT in warning people. The world is producing stupid fucks at a rate of 1000's a minute. Scammers never had it so good. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Grim
Joined: 18 Sep 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Betsy,
How did your transaction go? Did it all do through fine or was it a scam? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
naureboy-william
Joined: 08 Nov 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:50 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Can anyone suggest who I contact to report scam? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jsybean
Joined: 29 Aug 2006 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:46 pm Post subject: lewis@worldwideticketslive.com - is a scam |
|
|
Unfortunately I found out the hard way and I was scammed by the above who's full name is Lewis McKenna. I have reported him to the Merseyside police and await to hear further.
I hope no-one took his word, and sent him money |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
twiggy Gumtree Admin
Joined: 04 Dec 2006 Posts: 468 Location: Richmond
|
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: | naureboy-william Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 9:50 am Post subject:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Can anyone suggest who I contact to report scam? |
If you come across a fraudulent advertiser then report their ad to us using the 'report this ad for review by Gumtree admin' button that can be found in the bottom right-hand corner of the ad. This is the best way to bring it to our attention. We will then take a look and take appropriate action.
Please see here for more info: http://forums.gumtree.com/about37328.html
Jsybean sorry to hear that you were scammed - you did the right thing by reporting it to the Police. We will also take a look at this advertiser. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|