Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

beware- David Andy

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation
Author Message
jombag16



Joined: 11 May 2008
Posts: 10
Location: notts

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:24 am    Post subject: beware- David Andy Reply with quote

I was looking thru gumtree ads for a 2 bedroom flat and saw the ad. so i emailed this guy d.dontemanager@live.com. here's what we said.
I believed that it might be a scam due to the sob story
and the price is too good to be true- Notting hill @ £120. Please beware.
my gut tells me so. its one of those prime locations in london so i don't think that would be the price. I did not enter any transaction with him. thanks


Hello,
How are you doing today?I just got your email.The apartment is £120 per week and you are required to pay a 1month and a 6weeks deposit,all bills inclusive.The apartment is available for long term and short term lease.Unfortunately,I am currently in Liverpool with my mum,she is very sick now and she is undergoing a surgery operation so i have to stay with her so before I can come and show you around for the viewings,I need to know how serious you are about the renting the property because I wont like to come down all the way from Liverpool to be fooled as I have been in the past.And to know if you are capable of paying the house rent.The flat comprises of bedrooms,Living Room,spacious open plan kitchen,modern bathrooms and communal garden,Only 3 minutes walk from tube station and all shopping amenities.
For instance,I organized a viewing for some professionals last week and they refused showing up and I came all the way from Liverpool.Hope you understand my reasons for saying all this?So I just need to know how serious you are.I have the pictures of the flat on the site so you can view pictures there.I also require you to email me more informations and details about yourself and also your phone number for me to call you when i get to London for the viewings.
Do email me back as soon as possible so we can do the viewings as soon as possible.
Thanks
Back to top
Marissa25



Joined: 02 Jun 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it IS a scam, I received exactly the same email, the name was DAVID ANDY but the email address is topreasons2006@live.com

they don't even bother in changing the fake name!!!

BEWARE!!!!!!
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi!
Thanks for warning people.
I wish I was aware of this forum before i've been scammed.
anyway...
My scammers (they were at least two as i saw 2 guys during the flat visit) were a little bit more clever than that.
they created a bank account registered under a name of a genuine company. which was on top of that registered to the house company. Well.
What a pity you couldn't see that guy.
It would have helped me a lot to identify my scammers.
If anybody is a victim of this guy, please, check if the man could match my description please: look the topic called :::scam in paddington london:::it could help the police and myself a lot...
thanks a lot
Back to top
weeowen
 
 


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 1226
Location: Someplace sharp.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD wrote:
... it could help the police and myself a lot...
thanks a lot


Your "scam" is less of a common all-garden one, and more of a "theft". It's actually, I'd have thought, something the police are likely to have some luck with. If it was one of these "Western Union" scams, you could kiss any retribution goodbye. At least in your case, it may be possible the police might catch up with them one day (although, I wouldn't hold your breath about getting any cash back).
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi well yes...
My scam is really an unbelievable one..
I'm a REAL CAUTIOUS PERSON.
Never give cash in hands.
I visited the flat TWICE.
Two different guys were attending the flat visit.
I send the chaps (cleared funds) on a bank account which was the same bank as mine.
On top of that, when this bugger gave me his details about his company, i've checked on a "serious" website where all the companies are registered...
He sent me a fake contract.
And phoned to my boss at work...
And after all of that i've been scammed, and many others.
So, no rules, there is ALWAYS a way to be scammed even if you're careful like me...
I've signed a statement at the police and might have some response soon.
A detective is working on this case anyway so that's good.
Thanks for your mail
Back to top
weeowen
 
 


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 1226
Location: Someplace sharp.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd hope that the bank-account is something they can be traced by. Seems a risky scam to be doing, as they have taken just enough money to be noticed by the police, and in a way that it is possible to be traced. Personally, I'd have gone down the "Western Union" route myself, if I was going to be a scammer. That, or used a "mule" account, one of these ones you see advertised sometimes as a "job" where you "work from home, processing payments, and forward the money on via Western Union". That sort of thing. I guess you were had. Possibly the only other thing you could have done (one which I doubt I would have, to be fair) is check the ownership of the property.
Back to top
zeroless



Joined: 17 Feb 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

whenever you see this sentence its scam : "I need to know how serious you are about the renting the property because ..." trust me !
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought tracing a bank account could be easy. But in fact NO. And those guys withdrew the money from cash machines so that nothing was left for the victims to be refunded.
I WOULD NEVER EVER given my money if it wasn't the same bank as mine... I might say the name of the bank at some point as it's incredible they can authorize a creation of an account while it's a scammer.
But i'm waiting to see the reply of the detective's investigation.
It might come that the scammers had a friend into the bank.
I'm curious about the answer.
When I have the aswer sentenced by the judge, I'll let know about this situation,
Regards
Back to top
weeowen
 
 


Joined: 21 Apr 2008
Posts: 1226
Location: Someplace sharp.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't it be a case of some fake ID used to open the account?
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm afraid it could be...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group