| Author |
Message |
wildice
Joined: 14 Feb 2008 Posts: 4 Location: Australia (Sydney)
|
Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:27 pm Post subject: Western Union Accommodation Scam in AUSTRALIA |
|
|
Hi all,
Just to let you know, I've come across what might possibly be the first case in Australia of having someone try to scam me for the rental of an 'apartment'.
What happened? I placed a classified ad (on another website) for long-term rental accommodation. After three weeks I received an email from some fellow who calls himself Frank. He offered a three bedroom, two living room house (apartment) in Ultimo - 16 Mary Ann Street to be precise - at the rate of $250.00 per week.
Thinking this is 'too good to be true', I allowed this conversation to continue to the point where he asked for a $500 deposit to be sent to him via Western Union. I sent him a forged scan of a Western Union receipt along with the requested documents that would have resulted in identity theft had I given him my ACTUAL details.
I have received another email this morning stating that he has gone to the UK for missionary work and would I resend the payment to another associate of his in the UK - then he will organise for me to have a look at the 'apartment'.
To add insult to injury, he has given me a phone number (international) that appears to be one of those premium numbers that can cost over one pound a minute to call (and that's calling from within the UK, I believe). It starts with 070 ...
Is there any way of actually catching these bastards? We have been having communication for approximately two weeks now (I'm curious to see how far he will take this) and, yesterday he started to claim that he's a Pastor doing missionary work (in the UK or Alabama in the USA?).
Not only a scammer but one with no morals. He has deliberately targeted someone who indicated in their original classified ad that they were bankrupts and now he takes on some sort of religious persona.
Anyone else in Aus who has had similar, please let me know as I'd be most interested. Remember - be aware that this DOES happen over here. Perhaps we should start a list of names as they have done in the Gumtree Forum for Accommodation in London.
For reference, the contact names I have collected thus far include:
- franknelson02@yahoo.com (the perpetrator though I believe this is a case of email identity theft)
- Harrison Williams of Hounslow in the UK (for receiving of Funds)
- Tonya Smith of Bridgeport, Alabama in the US
Best of luck to everyone else - I don't seem to be having much.
Kelly |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
the_tidy_kiwi Gumtree Moderator
Joined: 26 Feb 2007 Posts: 500
|
Posted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for letting us know. I will try and stop this guy from contacting others.
If anyone gets a similar offer of accommodation that requests you pay by Western Union then please report it to us. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jennyjane
Joined: 17 Feb 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| strangely enough, if you read 419 or anything else about these scammers, they always bring religion into it.Maybe they think it makes them seem more trustworthy? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
wildice
Joined: 14 Feb 2008 Posts: 4 Location: Australia (Sydney)
|
Posted: Mon Feb 18, 2008 10:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, I've had an interesting time now. I think he's given up on me as a bad joke, especially after I had a little fun with him. If you are interested in what you could try to annoy this sods, have a quick look at NigWar's comments in this thread:
http://forums.gumtree.com/viewtopic.php?p=1982922#1982922
It worked for me - not monetarily, but satisfaction wise.
Good luck everyone and BE CAREFUL! |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2202
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 10:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Exactly right, they pretend to be doctors or reverends to assume respecability, i had the fake 10mill email contact the rev sombody at the bank, wtf is a rev doing at the bank holy church of mammon??? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jennyjane
Joined: 17 Feb 2008 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 11:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
also what makes me laugh is that with the flat scam, they always say they are a professional, or in marketing working in the city, how did they get such a good job when so uneducated as to start sentences -
Am a professional, and not "I" AM A PROFESSIONAL? |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
letgola
Joined: 17 Jun 2008 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
I can't believe I got a similar scam email to yours! I posted an ad yesterday and a minute later I received an email from a guy called Rex Smith saying that he's in london and he has an apartment in westmead to be rented out. As i read the email i became very doubtful and I told my partner this could be a scam. Here's his email:
'Helle,
Thanks for getting back to me concerning the apartment. It is located at 9, Hainsworth St Westmead Sydney parramttar . A flat fully furnished and well equipped with all facilities ..facilities such as. Washing machine, Heater, Dryer, Sofa, Oven, Fast Internet connection and lot more ..the apartment has a small garden as well.
Cost:
The whole bedroom will cost you $120 per month with a security deposit of $350 refundable at the end of your stay in my apartment if nothing is reported missing or damage during your stay
Mind you the utilities and other bills has been added to the price stated above....i will like to inform you once again that i will not be around for the viewing
So if i have answered your questions, here is the next step for the reservation ,you will make the reservation for the apartment and sign the rental agreement contract after this, i will post the spare keys of the apartment to your address the money will be transfer to my name and address in london, Uk, via western union money transfer,i would have ask you to wire the payment to me via Bank Account but am new here,and i have not open any Bank Account ,but it will be easy for me to have payment that way.
so for the contract to be prepared,i will be needing this details from you
Your full name and address
passport id number
date of birth
date of moving in and out
I think if i replied to him he would have trapped me into giving him money. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
montyzuma Community Moderator
Joined: 25 Jul 2007 Posts: 2202
|
Posted: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
$120 a month might have given you a clue. however some people might have thought all their birthdays had came at once.
wind him up ask for tenancy agreements statements and report him to abuse@yahoo.com or whoever he is using |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
gums

Joined: 18 May 2008 Posts: 287
|
Posted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
| yeah just stay away obvious scam |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|