Gumtree Forum Index
 
 GumtreeGumtree   SearchSearch   RegisterRegister   Log inLog in   ProfileProfile   MemberlistMemberlist   FAQFAQ 

:::::SCAM IN PADDINGTON, LONDON:::::

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation
Author Message
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:39 pm    Post subject: :::::SCAM IN PADDINGTON, LONDON::::: Reply with quote

Hi all,

I just want you to be carefull with all the gumtree ads.

There was an ad posted about the 01/04/2008. The posting reference was 22217815 . This concerned a newly refurbished one double bedroom flat in Paddington, for £250 pw all bills included.
The contact was bensflat@yahoo.com. Of course, this was a fake email adress.

This is a serious mail I'm sending. I had to report the fraud to the police and the bank. Anybody who could see this ad should also tell the police.
This is the best period to look for a flat, but the best also for the cons.

Just to help you not to be in the same situation as I am now, I give you some informations about what happened:


_I sent a mail to bensflat@yahoo.com saying I was really interested in renting the flat.

_I visited the flat

_I contacted the "landlord" (probably he got a sim card from anywhere, by that way he had a proper cell number). He asked me to send him a copy of my passport and a reference letter from my boss.

_When he received the documents, he even phoned my boss to check if I was a reliable person

_After a while I wasn't sure I wanted to take it so he offered me to visit the flat again. So I have been visiting the flat again (the person who showed me the flat that time was different from the first visit)
_He sent me a fake contract, with no signature. He filled in a lot of information anyway (ie: location of the flat, name of the sollicitors,...)

_He asked me to send him the deposit by cleared funds. I asked him for his passport as well as I have never met him before. What he gave me instead was his registered company number, you can find all the informations on the companies house website. The problem is, the company registration doesn't ask for an id card or a passport. So he registered a company under a fake name.

_The bank I transfered the money to was the same as mine. So I thought it was safe to track the money if anything went wrong. BUT it's a mistake. Bear in mind if the company closes its account, you may not be able to get your money back.

_His "associate" called me as well. After that, I couldn't reach them on the phone. Neither him or his colleague.



So please, be much more than carefull.

I lost a lot of money, even though I checked all the details the cheater gave me. He created a fake company few months ago, and then an account. Unless I have checked the informations to the police, there was nothing I could do. This was set up by many people, a while ago.


I would suggest you to visit the flat in the presence of the proper landlord. If not, check at the police station if the flat is properly registered under the same name.
I hope this mail can help.

A.
Back to top
mallikabakshi



Joined: 14 Apr 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi,
sumthng like ths happened to us too...we lost 1000 bucks...did he call himself adrian nemis???dark cropped hair??tall...??not otoo fluent in english???
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Wed Apr 23, 2008 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi there,
No the guy was called "Benjamin Grainger" and his associated was "Richard Goldsmith".
But they used fake names, everybody can be called like that...
I never saw them but I saw the guys who attended the flat visit.
The first one was tall(1.80 meters),thin, greyish hair, proper english accent. The second was about 1.65-1.70 meters,foreign accent, tan, dark brow eyes, very dark short hair.
I described them to the police so they're investigating. I had a lot of elements.
When you go to Web Check of the companies house:
http://wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk/bdbf79b67618c0702d3aab4052fc64a0/wcframe?name=accessCompanyInfo
here is the number they were refered as 06469852, with the name of that company "Hoxfield"they stole me £2500...
And even when I asked the bank to check if the company was reliable, they haven't done anything.. When the cleared funds was done, it was too late...
Fake contract, fake company, real bank account (i'm still waiting to know how they managed to create one under a fake identity...), existing flat but not registered under those names,...
ORGANISED PEOPLE AWARE OF THE WEAKNESS OF EACH SYSTEM...
Thanks for mailing,
A.
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the case that happen again, don't visit the flat situated at this adress:
Flat 4
32-36 Gloucester Terrace,
Paddington,
London

I don't think they will be dumb to arrange others visits again. If so, please, take a picture of the guys in there! That can help the police at Paddington Green.
Thanks a lot,
A.
Back to top
sanlund



Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:21 pm    Post subject: This happened to me too Reply with quote

Same name, same address, etc. Crying or Very sad It looks like he might have caught out a few people. Maybe it would be a good idea to get in touch as the police may be more interested if there are several people affected. You can email me on s_miffin@hotmail.com
Back to top
HELP_AGAINST_FRAUD



Joined: 23 Apr 2008
Posts: 12
Location: london

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for your mail.
he did scam a lot of people actually.
when i went to the bank, the account was blocked because there had been already a complaint about the company...
many complaints to the police had been done as well.
they also put ads on others flat websites...
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gumtree Forum Index -> Accommodation All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 






Forum Terms & Conditions


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group